A Short Jaunt In The Gardens

Two ducks taking a nap at the botanical gardens.

Two ducks taking a nap at the botanical gardens.

The Dunedin Botanic Garden has been open for 150 years this year. It happens to be my favourite place in Dunedin, even if the weather is bad, as it often is. The gardens are massive, so I decided to do a short photo journal of my 40 minute long tour of the lower half of them. I thought I’d just put a few of my favourite images here though. This will be followed by a photo journal of the upper half of the gardens for my next post.

The Otaru Tien - developed to celebrate Dunedin's Sister City relationship with Otaru, Japan, and Otago provinces 150th anniversary.

The Otaru Teien – developed to celebrate Dunedin’s Sister City relationship with Otaru, Japan, and Otago provinces 150th anniversary.

The Otaru Teien

The Otaru Teien

Looking right as you cross the bride to the Teien

Looking right as you cross the bridge to the Teien

Water of Leith

Water of Leith

The Rockery. I think this is my favourite photograph I took.

The Rockery. I think this is my favourite photograph I took.

Overview of the gardens from the top of the rockery.

Overview of the gardens from the top of the rockery.

The imgur album for the photo journal can be found here.

2 thoughts on “A Short Jaunt In The Gardens

  1. Good links, Ellie. I’ve never checked out the background information on the Botanic Garden website. I’m not looking forward to seeing the worm sculpture installed. I notice they are digging out an area in front of the visitors Centre and restaurant. Perhaps this is where the giant worm will be sited. I think the worm should be buried deep underground – after all, isn’t that their natural habitat?

Leave a Reply

